ColdAmbition400“COLD AMBITION” Blurb

It was my life-long dream to become a private eye. Little did I know that with my very first case, that dream would become a life-threatening nightmare…”

When Jordan James decided to embark on a career as a private investigator, she never could have imagined that a chance encounter would lead to her staring down the barrel of a gun on the roof’s edge of a high-rise building. As she begins to investigate her first case, the puzzling murder of a prominent businessman that has left Boston’s finest mystified for more than two decades, she finds herself suddenly immersed in a treacherous underworld brimming with betrayal, raw greed, and political subterfuge of international proportions. In the midst of this, she discovers she is falling for her mysterious client despite the hints of his dark past. Can this feisty Southern girl with a penchant for trouble solve this baffling case or is she doomed to become another tragic chapter in an international conspiracy?

“COLD AMBITION” coming Summer 2014 from Soul Mate Publishing!

EXCERPT:

Jon closed the door, which was still partially open, and sat down on the couch. He then peered at me sideways. “Have you ever heard of the unsolved murder of David Michaels?”

“No,” I mumbled, trying in vain to fit my fingers between the cast and my arm to scratch a maddening itch. “Is it a big deal?”

“It’s only one of the most fascinating unsolved cases in Boston. People wonder about it just as much as they do about the Gardner Heist of 1990.”

“Well, I’ve heard of that one,” I replied defensively. “Someone stole more than fifteen works of art from the Gardner Museum the day after St. Patrick’s Day in 1990. It’s one of the biggest unsolved art thefts in American history. What happened to this David Michaels guy?”

Jon lifted his shoulders and shrugged. “That’s just it. No one knows. One night in 1989, a couple was killed in an explosion in the Big Dig because they plowed into another car. The other driver was David Michaels. He was a big shot accountant from New York who had worked for a very lucrative international corporation. He had just moved to Boston with his wife and their three-year-old son when he died.”

“I’m sorry, but something doesn’t add up,” I interjected. “There was a car wreck and an explosion. How is this a big mystery? It sounds pretty straightforward to me.”

Jon smiled eerily. “That would seem straightforward except for one detail I left out.”

“What’s that?”

“David Michaels was dead from a bullet wound to the head prior to the explosion.”

“What?”

“Now you’re interested, aren’t you?”

I was interested. I didn’t know exactly where Jon was going with this story, but I was very interested. I attempted to cross my arms but the cast prevented me from doing so. I held the cast up with my right arm.

“So where does my agency come into this story?”

Jon stood up and walked across the room. He peered through the Venetian blinds at the bustling city below. “My roommate Ricky was David’s son.” He paused and allowed this to sink in, still looking through the blinds. “Ricky mentioned this case often to me. It bothered him that the police never solved it. He said that, according to his mom, they really didn’t try very hard. It was easier just to let it sit there and eventually become a cold case.”

I shook my head. “That doesn’t make any sense, either. It sounds like he’s jumping to a conclusion because he’s emotionally involved in this case. I’m sure the police tried their best to solve the case. Cops don’t just let cases go cold.”

Jon shrugged. “I’m just telling you what he told me.”

I scratched the back of my head and sighed. I was grateful to be able to scratch that itch. “Okay, now that I know the backstory, tell me about our prospective client.”

Jon walked away from the blinds and headed back toward the couch. This time, he sat on the arm of the couch. I grimaced. I hated it when he did that, and he knew as much but didn’t care. “Well, like I said, Ricky emailed me about moving to Boston next summer and wanted to know if I would be willing to room again. I said that that would be cool. So, he emailed me back and thanked me and asked how my career as an actor was going. I responded ‘not so well,’ but I had a job working for a P.I.”

I peered at him sideways, and it finally dawned on me why he gave me Ricky Michaels’ backstory. “No . . .”

He stood up and smiled. “Yes.”

“Jon, are you telling me that Ricky wants me to solve an unsolved murder from twenty-something years ago that trained police officers couldn’t?”

He nodded. “Yep.”

 

 

headshot (1)Rachel Sharpe is the author of Cold Ambition, the first novel in the Jordan James, PI series. Although born and raised in the South, “Yankee” relatives first led Rachel to historic New England, which she has come to consider her second home and is the setting for the series.

After obtaining a Bachelor of Arts in English, Rachel began dedicating her free time to her childhood passion, writing, and in the fall of 2013, she signed her first book deal with Soul Mate Publishing. An active member of Sisters in Crime, Rachel currently resides with her husband in the Greater New Orleans area.

LINKS:

Buy Link: http://www.amzn.com/B00L2OLQPG/



