1 Oh Stupid Heart Banner- Blog Tour 2nd2. OSH Prizes

Recently, I gave away Book 1,Worst Week Ever during a 3 day act of sharing.

The response was fabulous.

It climbed all the way to # 7 of the Kindle Free Bestsellers.

#1 in Romantic Comedy

#1 in Humor

#1 in New Adult/College

 

And the reviews came pouring in. As of this writing, I had 30 reviews. (I wrote this on 9/10)

19  5stars

5    4 stars

1    3 stars

1    2 stars

4    1 star

 

That means statistically. 80% loved or really liked it, 20% not so much.

I know the rule is never to reply or comment about reviews, but rule breaking is one of my favorite things in whole world.

So here we go!Investigator Peep

First, I want to analyze the painful ‘I hate your book’ group. Those are the one star reviews. And for the record, no one used those words.

These are always brutal to read, because you put your blood sweat and tears into a book. It’s like birthing a baby and four people despise your funny little cherub.baby Liza 001 blue 2

But I strongly believe all four reviews were sincerely felt and written, with their intent to warn others that the five stars were grossly misleading.

No one was being mean just to be mean. They read and truly hated my book.

So let’s review the core complaints.

1. Worst Week Ever is NOT A ROMANCE.

It sure isn’t a normal one, I’ll grant you that.

 

In fact I classified the book as Contemporary/Humor in Amazon.

 

Now, in some promotions, I do call it a Disaster Romance, by which I mean the romance is a disaster amongst the week of disasters.

Without question, my characters are both determined to fall in love, but Trent is such a god awful bad boy that he probably fails to make even the standard for bad boys. And realistically who significantly improves in 7 days? So, while better, Trent’s still pretty awful at the end of the week.

 

I never intentionally wished to lead anyone to expect a proper romance and I’m very sorry if you were misled and thank you for warning others.

 

2. This is NOT FUNNY!

Humor is subjective. I had an aunt and uncle who never could tell when I was being funny. When my sense of humor burst forth with them I always felt like a comedian working the Wax Museum occupants. They’d just stare at me with slightly off expressions of bafflement.Old Matron

Sorry you didn’t find the humor. I’m just thrilled that 80 % of my reviewers thought it very funny. But my dear aunt and uncle taught me long ago not to expect everyone to get me.

3. I was in the mood for mindless fluff, but this book was ridiculous drivel.

Narcotic turtles

Well, I see how I got in trouble with you. I value ridiculous over mindless. Honestly, I find real life ludicrous and I love to create scenarios capturing nonsensical going ons that touch upon some crazy occurrence in my life or on the news.

For example, one state now allows blind people to carry guns about (which I immediately retranslate to assault weapons). I’m laughing myself silly just thinking about how that could go in a story.

4. Book One left two much hanging, such as why Sam can’t be fired.

You are correct. I did not wrap up that thread. It’s because the person who can tell Trent why he can’t fire Sam doesn’t enter the story until book two. However, I left huge hints on the matter in book one, so in my perspective, I thought everyone should have figured it out for themselves.

Similarities

And kudos to those that did. Your answer will be confirmed in book 2.

However, this open issue is one of the reasons I have killed myself (working 17 hours a day) to move up book two from 2014 to 10 days after you received your free book one.

Good news, the second book gives Trent more time to improve, although it’s not always smooth sailing. At one point even Carrie likens him to Dr. Jekyll & Hyde in book 2.

However, in my opinion, book two creeps ever closer to being an almost, but not quite, proper romance with a decided Happily Ever After (for now).

 So while these one star reviewers dinged my average, I appreciate their feedback. Their reviews will help steer away those looking for a by-the-format romance story and will hopefully get people to read a few pages of book to see if they like my humor and ridiculous realities.

So to my four one star reviewers:  I’m grateful for your input and wish you happy reading…books that fit you better.

 

 

And now to the 80% of reviewers that gave me wonderful reviews ranging 4-5:

 

Your happy words are candy to my soul.

I love you!

(Platonically, so don’t go creepy on me.)

 

I hope you’ll follow along this entire three book series.

You should also enjoy Ghost Lover which comes out Dec 2, 2013. It’s a humorous romance about two British brothers, a lascivious ghost, and a ghost cat all falling in love with one fabulous young woman with a criminal record. I have great fun with that one.

 

Here are some of the fabulous things you wrote about Worst Week Ever:

Fantastic Fun Filled Book – Personally, I really liked Trent

By the time I got to the chocolate turtles I was laughing so hard I was literally crying.

I laughed so hard my husband kept giving me funny looks.

Amusing, absurd, but very enjoyable. Laugh out loud enjoyable

It’s a feel good book with great highs and lows and most of all laughs

A quirky, outrageously funny story.

Found the characters funny and entertaining

This is truly an exceptional book. The author has created very loveable and memorable characters.

This book had everything I could want in a book. It was also hilarious

This book had me laughing from start to finish.

Loved it! Laughed so hard that I had to keep a box of kleenex near me.

This book was great! I love humor in book and this was a perfect fit

Worst Week Ever was a fantastically fun read.

I don’t remember any book I have read in recent times that has made me laugh so hard.

Full of laughter (yes, I did LOL), adventure, and some heartbreaking scenes.

ILY

Seriously, I love you. Receiving such fabulous comments is why I’m publishing.

I have a great desire to make you happy, to entertain you, and then when you least expect, make you cry.(I’m bad…what can I say.)

Carrie cries

And  now for book two:

Oh Stupid Heart_bookcover

Oh Stupid Heart

Book Two of: A Long Road To Love

Humorous Contemporary Disaster Romance

By

Liza O’Connor

Blurb:

Carrie Hanson is in love with a different species: Trent, a pampered, uber-rich socialite who’s also her boss. Everyone keeps telling her it’s a train wreck looking to happen, but her heart wants what it wants. So despite the billion and one reasons not to, Carrie commits to this inter-species relationship. But while she’s off being trained for her new job responsibilities, a beautiful ex fiancée is working hard to get Trent back and Carrie fired.

Excerpt:

Carrie Hanson couldn’t believe it. Her four year sex-drought was about to end. She shivered in anticipation until a sinking dread over came her. Oh God, what if I’ve forgotten what to do?

Please God, let this be like riding a bike.

Trent pulled back from their kiss and studied her, his brow furrowed. “Are you cold?” He reached across her bed and tugged the edge of the comforter over her, tucking the fabric beneath her body so she became a human corndog.

She wiggled out of captivity and scooted across the bed, closer to him. “I’m fine. I’m just happy our horrible week is over and we can start anew. This time not as boss and an employee, but best friends who love each other.

Trent pulled her to his chest and kissed her. She opened her mouth to his and met his tongue with her own, determined to give as good as she got. His soft groan inspired her to do more.

She unbuttoned the waistband of his suit pants and slipped her hand beneath his boxers, determined to move matters along and end her drought forever. He broke their kiss and his hands captured hers.

He didn’t want her?

She turned away, mortified with shame…and confused. Why the hell had he kissed so provocatively if he didn’t want to make love to her? She tucked her head, so he wouldn’t read all the emotions bouncing about her confused head right now, but he forced her chin upward, his dark eyes somber and concerned.

“Carrie, I have screwed up every relationship I’ve ever been in. I think part of the problem is I gravitated to glamour girls with no brain and no personality, but I would have realized that if I had just taken a moment to talk to them first.”

This was the stupidest excuse she’d ever heard. “We’ve known each other for two years, in which time I’ve certainly established I’m not a glamour girl.”

He chuckled and nodded.

Her eyes narrowed and a low growl emitted from her chest. “You don’t have to be so quick to agree.”

“But you aren’t. You’re not an image of beauty, you’re the real thing. While I have no complaints about your small, but perfect body, silky long brown hair, and gorgeous green eyes, your real beauty comes from inside. When you smile I feel like I’m standing before an angel of joy.”

Now she saw where his thoughts headed. He didn’t want to make love to an angel. She recalled Elvis Presley did something this crazy. He refused to touch his wife after she bore him a child because he couldn’t make love to a mother.

She pulled her hand from his and gripped his shirt as she stared sternly into his eyes. “Do not go Elvis Presley on me. I am not an angel. I’m a small, catastrophe-prone woman who wants to make love to you.”

A Long Road to Love

Book Two

Oh Stupid Heart

Amazon

Buy Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Stupid-Heart-Long-Road-ebook/dp/B00F6HUGJ2/

Book One

Worst Week Ever

Amazon

Click Here

To Follow the 2nd Craziest Blog Tour

for

Oh Stupid Heart

Liza O’Connor

Author Bio:

Liza lives in Denville, NJ with her dog Jess. They hike in fabulous woods every day, rain or shine, sleet or snow. Having an adventurous nature, she learned to fly small cessnas in NJ, hang-glide in New Zealand, kayak in Pennsylvania, ski in New York, scuba dive with great white sharks in Australia, dig up dinosaur bones in Montana, sky dive in Indiana, and raft a class four river in Tasmania. She’s an avid gardener, amateur photographer, and dabbler in watercolors and graphic arts. Yet through her entire life, her first love has and always will be writing novels. She loves to create interesting characters, set them loose, and scribe what happens.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT

LIZA O’CONNOR:

Liza’s Blog and Website   Facebook   Twitter

 Worst Week Ever Trailer

Other Books by Liza O’Connor

Saving Casey

Worst Week Ever

Oh Stupid Heart

Coming Soon:

Ghost Lover

Coming To Reason

TO ENTER TO WIN $25 PRIZE
